FNG, and a few thoughts & ?'s on P3-AT

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by Rosco1080, Oct 16, 2007.

1. Rosco1080

Rosco1080 New Member

Oct 16, 2007
    Hello, (sorry, this got a little longer than I expected  :)  )

New guy here. Just wanted to drop in and say high and let you know my experiences with a 2nd Gen P3-AT. I have used this site for reference in the past, several times when I was looking for a new off duty carry gun.

My current main carry gun is a Kahr P9. I had looked at a P-11 but it was smaller than I wanted, and I wasn't too impressed with some of the things I had heard and looking at it it didn't seem as well made as some of my other options.

About 2 years ago a co-worker drops by and pulls a P3-AT from his back pocket and I was amazed at how small it was. I am a firearms instructor and had to qualify him with the gun. It ran pretty decent new right out of the box, but had a few issues. He couldn't quite qualify with it and he never bothered to try again. BTW, we require 25yard shots with all guns, a little hard if your not a good shooter. And no, I did not set that policy  ::)

So recently I have been thinking of getting a nice tiny gun for when I do not want to carry a gun but would feel naked w/o one. And for a on-duty bug. So he said he would sell it if I was interested.

Well, he hadn't cleaned it since the last time. I fired it dry and dirty and she had a few ftf's in the first mag, second mag was better, then it went away.

Then I lubed her up real good and proceeded to put 200 rnds through it. I mainly had failure to eject. The empty would lodge in the open slide in the same orientation as the next loaded round. I also had a lot of really light primer strikes, and only a few failure to feeds.