First Impressions

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by mjoplin, Nov 21, 2010.

1. mjoplin

mjoplin New Member

Nov 21, 2010
    Picked up a new P3AT from Tomball Pawn and Gun in Tomball, Texas a couple of weeks ago with the intent of using it as a daily carry.  I've had zero past experience with Kel-Tec, but it came highly recomended by a good friend.  It is a new unit, in gray with a black slide.  Purchase price of $269.00.

Based off online reviews I was unsure what to expect at the first trip to the range.  Prior to the trip to the range, I gave it a thorough cleaning with the requisite Hoppes 9 and a light lube with Outers oil.

I ran 100 rounds through it today, 50 Sellier and Bellot 92 grain FMJ and 50 PMC 90 grain FMJ.  Very pleased to have had zero issues with either, no FTFs or FTEs at all!  It was my first time with something this small and with the exception of the first 3 or 4 rounds I kept everything within a 4 to 6" grouping at about 5 and 10 yards which was well beyond my expectations!

The trigger pull definitely threw me for a loop.  Even though I'd dry fired it a few times prior to the range, it really takes some getting used to.  I didn't find the recoil to be too bad at all, but the trigger guard is a bit rough on the finger.  My intention is to try to smooth out the plastic on the inside of the guard with some emory cloth.  The trigger itself didn't bother me, which was counter to some posts I'd seen in researching the gun.

The ammo was purchased from www.ammotogo.com, the S&B for $11.95 and the PMC for $13.95 for a box of 50.  The PMC was dirty, the S&B definitely proved to be the better ammunition in my opinion.  

Overall, I am very satisfied with the gun and it will be my daily carry with a Blackhawk size 2 pocket holster loaded with Hornady Critical Defense hollow points I'd picked up at ammotogo.com for $19.95/box of 25.  

Very happy with the gun and a new P3AT fan now!

2. JFB

JFB New Member

Jul 25, 2005
    welcome to KTOG.