Federal Premium Law Enforcement Hyra-Shok

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by raymac1215, Apr 8, 2009.

1. raymac1215

raymac1215 New Member

Dec 31, 2008
    Hi, I just bought a box of Federal Premium Law Enforcement Hydra Shok Ammunition 90 grain JHP and was wondering if anybody recommend this for use in the P3AT. Also is the casing brass , it looks like steel? i am new at this so don't laugh. My LGS owner sold them to me for $24.00 and said they were the best for carry purposes. Your answer is greatly appreciated.

2. CDW4ME

CDW4ME New Member

Apr 6, 2009
    USA
    Hydra-Shok is good ammunition. Last time I checked it wasn't LEO. The cases are nickel plated. I would want to shoot several magazines of any ammunition without any problems before carrying or relying on it for defensive purposes.

3. doubloon

doubloon New Member

Jan 5, 2008
    Houston-ish, TX
    There is a Federal cartridge labeled "HST" that is supposed to be "LEO only" but it can be bought.

Steel no, nickel plated yes and your LGS guy did OK by you on the price assuming it's a box of 50 and not 20.

Supposedly it has a better bonded jacket than the regular HydraShok because it's "tactical".

Mainly I like it because boxes of 50 can (could) be had for $23-$28

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

4. CJP32

CJP32 Active Member

Jul 24, 2008
    IMO the Hydrashok is a "good" round but there are better rounds in most cases. I know this is a matter of opinion but in the little mouse guns I spend a bit more time trying to find the best ammo I can. Right now with the ammo shortage it can be hard to find any 380 anyway so if your gun shoots it I would carry it.
    Try a search and you will find a ton of threads about ammo here, also take a look at some gel tests

http://www.goldenloki.com/ammo/gel/380acp/gel380acp.htm

CJ

5. raymac1215

raymac1215 New Member

Dec 31, 2008
    So is it nickle plated brass ? I assume nickle plated is better then brass ?