Fail to Fire

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by rosieK, Mar 25, 2010.

1. rosieK

rosieK New Member

Jun 10, 2009
    For the first time, using ammo that I have never used before in the 3AT(Sellier Belloit), several cartridges failed to fire--I heard the click of the trigger and the firing pin but "nothing". Looking at cartridge after ejecting, I noticed a slight "dent" in the cartridge, where the pin actually hit the cartridge but it just did not result in a discharge. Asked someone in the gunshop and was told that with the 3AT and its "soft" (I think that was the word) pin, sometimes cartridges can fail to fire. Everything else I tried today (we are now talking about the good stuff--Federal hydra, and speer gold) fired fine. As a matter of fact I reloaded several of the cartridges that did not fire the first time into the mag and they fired this second time. Other S&B cartridges in that box also fired on the first try. Explanations? Comments? Interested in others with similar experience and reasons for same.

2. burley

burley Well-Known Member

Nov 26, 2006
    Kansas
    ;D The P3AT ain't soft ( it is a light wt firing pin and super light hammer that rely on speed over mass), but the primers in S&B and some other foreign makes are hard primers. Some times the two don't match.

3. doubloon

doubloon New Member

Jan 5, 2008
    Houston-ish, TX
  4. GoldenLoki

GoldenLoki New Member

Dec 6, 2008
    Hard primers aren't unusual, they do reveal that you weren't working with much margin on the "soft" primers.

Could be debris in the firing pin channel. - Dis-assemble and clean.

Since you have it apart, chamfer the breech side of the firing pin hole (turn drill bit a few sizes bigger than the hole by hand), polish the outer surface of the firing pin (do not sharpen), run a drill bit in and out of the firing pin hole by hand to deburr it. Re-clean, re-assemble.

GL

5. Toforo

Toforo New Member

Feb 10, 2010
    Columbia, MO