Does this FTE happen to you too?  Why is it?

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by Second_Life, Jul 28, 2008.

1. Second_Life

Second_Life New Member

Jun 22, 2008
    Does this FTE happen to you too?  Why is it?

Hey all,
    Here's a simulated pic of the fail to eject I'm having while using Sellier & Bellot FMJ 92grs (http://www.sellier-bellot.cz/pistol-and-revolver-detail.php?ammunition=9&product=170).

[​IMG]

Can anyone tell me if this is the ammo or something else like velocity, weight or what?  I'm a novice doing my best to do it right.
    This is the 150-225 rounds of break-in happening around the 20th round or so.  Have done a F&B and always a proper cleaning/oiling, etc.

Does anyone use this ammo with the same FTEs?  Is the break-in still going on?

2. JFB

JFB New Member

Jul 25, 2005
    Re: Does this FTE happen to you too?  Why is it?

I can't tell the position of the fresh round. If it is still under the slide, then it kind of look like not restaining the recoil of the frame and thus the slide not going to full recoil.

3. twyacht

twyacht New Member

May 19, 2008
    Re: Does this FTE happen to you too?  Why is

On occasion, I have not had the best results with S&B ammo,...in a variety of calibers.

Has this happened with any other brands you've tried?

4. Second_Life

Second_Life New Member

Jun 22, 2008

twyacht - some Gold Dot at 90gr as self defense used for target, only used 35 of 50 and don't remember if there was a FTE.

JFB - the pic is simulated (didn't have camera phone on me) but the fresh round seams to be nosed on the ramp held down by the FTE. I'm not able to eject the mag. until I pull the slide back.

5. keltec-NK

keltec-NK New Member

May 23, 2007

this happens to me when I do not hold it firmly

Quote from engineer88 on Apr 10th, 2008, 5:46pm
    1. Read this thread and the links in it: http://www.ktog.org/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1206771556
    2. Buy a finger extension, it makes a HUGE difference.