1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Toolbox
Gun Hammer drill Airsoft gun Tool Starting pistol
Toolbox
hi guys, I am new to this form but I'm glad to be here. Hopefully I will learn quite a bit of do's and don'ts. I've had my son second generation Sub2K for eight months and I have several shopping lists ready to go just nervous to pull the trigger until I find out what has and hasn't worked. I have not successfully been able to find any cases that I like online. I'm a fan of hard cases not the soft ones. So, I decided to build my own. I'm sorry that I did not have the foresight to document my step-by-step process but if you have any imagination there won't be a problem. I started out by finding an empty Hilti drill case. Made sure it was big enough for everything I wanted to put in it, I'm sure you can go a smaller if you don't want to fit everything that I did. My first step was to take a Dremel tool with a cut off disk and cut out all of the interior ridges and plastic pieces that separated the drill from the batteries, battery charger and additional accessories. Then I took an angle grinder and ground them all down to where it was just a smooth flat open case on both sides. The next step was to purchase some adhesive spray and some half inch foam. I layered each side with about three layers of foam then on the last layer I laid everything out on a glass table on top of the last piece of foam just the way I wanted it and I traced everything with a sharpie. I took my little knife and traced all of my drawings. Then I took the top piece for the next half and flip the part that I had just traced and cut out on top of it and trace the holes and cut it out as well. Then I checked for fitment and everything was fine. So I started with the adhesive spray and laid it on both sides of each piece to create maximum hold. I think it turned out great. Not only does it provide a hard case protection but also a level of camouflage for the casual obs