Did you ever have to use your P-3AT?

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by Rogereh, May 23, 2009.

1. Rogereh

Rogereh New Member

May 22, 2009
    Hi! Another newbie here. :) After reading this message board for a few weeks I decided that I had to have a P-3AT that a local gun shop had just received. It was so small and cute that I just had to have it. My wife surprised me by buying it for my birthday (today). I have two Glocks in 9mm, a G17 and a G26 that I bought for CC. The 26 is very accurate and fun to shoot but too big to hide well in summer attire. I have never had one problem with either gun. I was really hesitant about buying the Kel-Tec because of all the problems that I've read about with them. The KT slides easily into my pocket with the Uncle Mike's #1 pocket holster. I haven't been able to shoot it yet but I have done the fluff and buff and added some white paint to the front sight. I've been carrying it everywhere with me since I brought it home. I hope it goes BANG when I finally get to a range to try it out. I was able to get one box of WWB with the gun so I can carry it loaded.

I have two questions: 1) What is everyone's opinion of carrying it with one in the chamber? I don't currently, but I'm considering fully loading it. 2) Has anyone every had to pull and/or use their KT .380 in a real life occurrence? I've read tons of ballistic reports on the Kel-Tec and the .380 ammo but so far I have not seen any reports on someone actually using it for self defense or even on an animal. I'd like to know what effect it has. I feel relatively safe around a hunk of ballistic geleton and wet newspaper I have an eerie feeling that I am under-gunned while I am carry it. Please tell me of your experiences (if any). The P-3AT is so "toy-like", do bad guys take it seriously? :-[
    Roger

2. ChasF

ChasF Member

Feb 14, 2009