Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new to the p3at and my question may sound silly so please forgive me if it does.anyway here goes.will carrying in the tube and i assume cocked weaken the spring ?? ???

·
Banned
7,638 Posts
Welcome to KTOG, cornbread!

Just when I was getting ready with the "beat the dead horse" icon, I realize it's a fresh question.

NO! Maybe the spring would weaken somewhat if carried at FULL cock, but not at half cock.

The P3AT is DESIGNED to be carried with one in the chamber. Let not your heart be troubled.

Packer.

·
Registered
357 Posts
Look at it this way -

Even IF  having a round in the chamber did eventually weaken the spring (I assume you mean -firing pin spring  - (same would hold for any spring). The springs for the P-3AT are cheap -
(firing pin spring is $.80) so - if you are concerned - you could just replace it  every 2 years.

But what is the alternative?

Carry around a gun that is not ready to be used.

Maybe the BG will listen when you ask him to - PLEASE wait 10 seconds before you stab me so I can load a round in the chamber and shoot you!  

·
Registered
5,028 Posts
the p3at has 10 springs.

the springs that are different between "loaded" and 'unloaded" would be the magazine and extractor springs.

Thus if there is a concern about weaking a spring, it would be best to also carry with none in the magazine too. ;)

·
Premium Member
1,830 Posts
Isn't the hammer spring also different when "loaded" or "unloaded"?
Isn't it slightly stretched in the "loaded" (half-cocked) position?

·
Registered
181 Posts
I agree with the above posts.  z71bill put it best...

"...carry(ing) around a gun that is not ready to be used."

If it's not loaded with one in the pipe and full magazine, there's no point in having it on your person.  By the way, you need good holster to prevent accidental discharge.  I.e. something that covers the trigger completely.