Can anyone help?

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by CONNAUGHT, Mar 8, 2009.

1. CONNAUGHT

CONNAUGHT New Member

Mar 8, 2009
    Yesterday I finally found and purchased my first Kel_Tech--the P3AT.  I have been looking for one for weeks. The dealer who sold it to me also recommended and I purchased COR BON 380 Auto 90gr JHP ammo.

This morning I went into my woods for some initial target practice and I have a problem I do not know what to do with.

First of all, I am not that experienced with guns, so taking one apart--especially with a bullet in the chamber scares me a bit.

At first, when pulling back to load a bullet into the chamber the bullet did not go all the way up and in. I was able to get it to out easy enough, but the same thing happened to the second bullet. After a few pulls the bullet did come up but now the the slide will not open or come back. I see a bullet in there, but it will not fire.

So the bullet is not in there properly, it will not fire, and I cannot pull the slide back to eject the bullet or try to dislodge it.

Suggestions anyone? Sorry to seem such a novice.

2. rcmodel

rcmodel New Member

Feb 6, 2005
    Eastern Kansas
    Bullet = The projectile that shoots out of the barrel.
    Round, loaded round, cartridge = A loaded round of ammo.

I can't imagine what has your gun "stuck shut" that tight.

Sounds like you just need to go "Hulk" on it and yank the slide back hard.

If that fails, try putting the front edge of the slide (but not the barrel muzzle or recoil spring guide-rod) against a wood deck post, workbench edge, etc.

Then quickly / sharply push forward on the grip as hard as necessary to open it.

It goes without saying to keep your buggerhook of the bang switch.

Failing that, you will have to remove the extractor to get the slide to open while leaving the round stuck in the chamber. Then knock it out with a cleaning rod.
    But I doubt that will be necessary, if you get physical with it.