Buffalo Bore - WTF, no more Gold Dot

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by wheelguy, Jul 11, 2009.

1. wheelguy

wheelguy New Member

May 4, 2007
    Just received a shipment of BB hollow point ammo. As usual, I ordered type "27C/20 90gr" - BB's part number - expecting that I would get the usual excellent Gold Dot bullet that I have lots of experience with. To my surprize, however, all 3 boxes had some other type of bullet. Exterior and interior shape distinctly different from Gold Dots.

I suppose they are having trouble getting Gold Dots, and thought their customers wouldn't notice the switch? A bit deceitful, IMHO. Needess to say, they're going back. Too expensive for range ammo, and adds an unknown factor to an important SD quality.

Just a heads up to others who may expect to see Gold Dots on BB ammo. I'll add more info if they respond to my inquiry about this.

2. Mohave-Tec

Mohave-Tec New Member

Mar 22, 2009
    Ya can't return ammo.

3. KelTex78

KelTex78 New Member

Jan 10, 2009
    Where did you buy it from? I just noticed that Cabelas had the BB GD available... I'm curious about the bullet as well; is it just a traditional hollow point bullet? If the seller won't take it back, I would imagine you would have little trouble selling it on the trading post.

4. CJP32

CJP32 Active Member

Jul 24, 2008
    Thanks for the heads up WG.
    But I did just read their web page and the description no longer states that they use GD's :
    I hope they switch back to them in the future as I think the GD is a great jhp. I still have a few of the GD's left but when I test fired them my 3AT left some pretty deep smileys.

CJ

Edit: Stars and Stripes ammo(.com) loads a pretty hot GD in 380 @1070 fps. $40 for a box of 50. I've never tried their ammo but I've heard it's good stuff.

5. wheelguy

wheelguy New Member

May 4, 2007