Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
491 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been reloading for over 20 years, but just recently started reloading for pistols, versus revolvers. I've done quite a bit of rifle reloading and with most things in life I'm a little more than meticulous (AR might be another term;)).

When it comes to pistols how much brass processing is necessary?

1) Do I need to clean primer pockets?

2) Do I need to sort head stamps? I want to be safe and not over-pressure with a different manufacturer's case construction. No, I don't load to top end pressures.

3) Do I need to seat bullets half way and then turn the case 1/2 turn and finish seating like I do with rifle rounds?

Also, any suggestions for an initial cleaning for particularly dirty cases? At a club I just joined I'm finding a lot of brass in gravel and mud that is good, but clogged with gravel dust. Scraping with a screwdriver and tumbling isn't removing all the caked on dust.

thanks and happy shooting, dv

·
Registered
441 Posts
I've been reloading for over 20 years, but just recently started reloading for pistols, versus revolvers. I've done quite a bit of rifle reloading and with most things in life I'm a little more than meticulous (AR might be another term;)).

When it comes to pistols how much brass processing is necessary?

1) Do I need to clean primer pockets?

2) Do I need to sort head stamps? I want to be safe and not over-pressure with a different manufacturer's case construction. No, I don't load to top end pressures.

3) Do I need to seat bullets half way and then turn the case 1/2 turn and finish seating like I do with rifle rounds?

Also, any suggestions for an initial cleaning for particularly dirty cases? At a club I just joined I'm finding a lot of brass in gravel and mud that is good, but clogged with gravel dust. Scraping with a screwdriver and tumbling isn't removing all the caked on dust.

thanks and happy shooting, dv