blown gun Christmass eve.

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by crazylegs, Dec 25, 2007.

1. crazylegs

crazylegs New Member

Dec 25, 2007
    I am kind of shook up.  The Kel-Tec 3AT is my first small automatic hand gun and I was very exited.  I shot 250 rounds through the gun and was having a good time learning to shoot it accurately. I clean and lube after every range trip after 50 rounds.  I was having some problems with it jamming and was trying diffrent ammo.   ....#####  Then it was a mess in my throbbing hand. It just blew up in my hand.  The barrel is half gon the Slide is 2 inches wide and the triger gard is blown off. My hand is a mess.  I dont know how to atach pic's or I would.  This is my first time on.  What direction do I go with this.  Thanks Russ

2. KelTekCajun

KelTekCajun New Member

May 11, 2006
    Acadiana
    Hi Russ,

Sorry to read about your problems, but there are many reasons why this could have happened. This could have been the result of a squibbed round, a round that had too much gun powder causing excessive pressure, a deformed round or one that may have had a microscopic fracture in the casing of the cartridge. Of course, this could also be the result of a weapon malfunction. Can you inform us what brand of ammo you were using? Was this ammo quality manufactured ammo or was it reloads? If the damage was caused by the ammo I would definitely give the manufacturer a call, and in anycase I would definitely give KelTec a call ASAP after their Christmas vacation which ends January 7, 2008. Even if the malfunction was caused by faulty ammo I would dare say KT will still fix your pistol free of charge. They are that kind of company. I hope I have been of some kind of help. I know others will be along during the day to give you more help. Merry Christmas and I hope your hand gets well.

http://www.kel-tec-cnc.com/

3. lagerbrewer

lagerbrewer New Member

Dec 20, 2007