barrel blank for 22 TCM

Discussion in 'Sub9 and Sub2000 Rifles' started by roscoe, May 22, 2017.

1. roscoe

roscoe New Member

Jan 9, 2006
    I really like the SUB 2000, but since reading about the .22 TCM, I have had fantasies of getting one rebarreled. Has anyone tried this? Can one buy barrel blanks? A .22 TCM SUB 2000 would really be a formidable and concealable PDW.

ral357 likes this.
  2. EPMARSHALL

EPMARSHALL Member

Feb 13, 2017
    I'm not an engineer thought I had to clean up several of their messes. The SUB 2000 is a blow back design and it is designed to handle the pressures of the 9MM and .40.

If they thought it was capable of handling other calibers I'm sure they would offer it in them. I Think the advances in self defense ammo in both calibers make them viable choices.

Evan Marshall

3. gusfinley

gusfinley Member

Aug 6, 2012
    SLC, UT
    As an engineer, I love that quote!

.22 TCM looks like it is 40,000 PSI, same as .357 Sig.

.357 Sig Sub2Ks were attempted by not successful.

If you pay someone enough money (and probably sign a waver) they would probably make you a barrel.

Last edited: May 24, 2017
  4. roscoe

roscoe New Member

Jan 9, 2006
    Hmm - maybe I have an overly simplistic understanding of the blowback design, but I would have figured a stronger recoil spring and/or slightly heavier bolt would be enough. What was the problem with the .357 Sig attempt?

I guess I always figured KT just always has too much on their plate for experimenting with new calibers that might not stick around. But .22 TCM and the SUB2000 seem like a perfect fit.

ral357 and OlderMan like this.
  5. TNTRAILERTRASH

TNTRAILERTRASH Active Member

Aug 27, 2015
    .22TCM? Then what you going to do to get a mag to feed it?

Just get me a kit to do LRBHO and I will be in Sub2000 Nirvana

6. 3wbdriver

3wbdriver Moderator Staff Member

Nov 2, 2005
    Louisiana