Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to handguns and this forum so i'm not sure this is the right place to ask,but during 2 trips to the range to practice my shots seem to go low and left.I am right handed.Any suggestions how to correct this?What am I doing wrong?

·
Registered
61 Posts
I have the same problem sometimes. Shooting low and left is an indication of a trigger pull problem.

First, get a finger extender or extended magazine so your ring finger has a firm hold.

You probably already know how to hold a pistol, but I'll elaborate.. I've seen so many do it wrong.

Shake hands with your pistol and get it as low in your hand as possible. Open your left hand as if grasping a beer, turn it in 45 degrees and place it over the right. Your thumbs should be both pointing at the target along the frame. With a larger grip, the palm of your left hand should occupy the space not covered by your right fingers.

No cowboy, cupping under with the left hand is not proper.

Now, lock your wrists. Push with your right hand while pulling with your left extending your right arm. 40% of the holding pressure should be on your right hand.

Use the tip of your finger on the trigger (between joint and tip actually) and act like it's a pendlium (sp?). This is where your problem is.

Keep your eye on your front sight. Squeeze the trigger in a steady fashion and don't worry about breathing. As in golf, follow through on your squeeze all the way back consentrating on the sight and holding steady.

The KT has a very long trigger pull.

Grab some AZoom Snap-Caps and practice at home, you'd be suprised how much that helps. Bring a friend to the range and have him load your KT and you fire. His choice on snap caps or live rounds and he shouldn't tell you which. This will help with recoil anticipation.

Fire as if there is no recoil... eye on front sight.. sight on target... smooth trigger pull.