Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

· Registered
432 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been expecting this for several years.

"The Bureau of Alcohol, Firearms, Tobacco and Explosives (ATF) finalized a new regulation Friday that will treat guns with stabilizing accessories like short-barreled rifles, which require a federal license to own under the National Firearms Act."

· Registered
432 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·

· Registered
37 Posts
We knew it was coming down the pike as different people/groups kept claiming it would come out in Aug then Nov then Dec..........
The interesting thing is the document is almost 300 pages long and the reason is the BATF in a very uncharacteristic move were very specific and gave multiple examples of what would be legal (sort of) or illegal. They did (characteristically) leave themselves some wiggle room as to what would be considered legal, they provide verbal examples which means it can be somewhat open to interpretation on their part.
Unless the courts put a stay on the rule anyone with what is now considered a SBR has 120 days to use the BATF eform to apply for a SBR, the $200 tax stamp is waived. The other option is to remove the brace/blade and dispose of it or make it so it is impossible to reuse on the AR pistol.

· Premium Member
3,354 Posts
BATF is ruling more like the Canadian Mounted Police.
I thought only Congress was supposed to be able to make law.
Nobody voted for any representatives to serve on the BATF.
Yes, the whole AR pistol brace thing was always a FUBAR situation just waiting for the BATF to put the kibosh on it.
I have no brace to loose, only my free country.

· Registered
432 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
BATF is ruling more like the Canadian Mounted Police.
I thought only Congress was supposed to be able to make law.
Nobody voted for any representatives to serve on the BATF.