Accuracy Contest for P3AT

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by Tokamak, Jan 1, 2008.

1. Tokamak

Tokamak New Member

Apr 28, 2006
    It would be interesting for Kel-Tec to sponsor a P3AT shooting contest.

I have always heard - the P3AT is not a target pistol, and I agree with that.  When I want to try my hand at accurate shooting, I use a Model10 S&W .38 special with a 6 inch barrel.

Still, I would like to see what an expert shooter could do with a P3AT.  I am NO expert.  I am satisfied to keep a group in a pie pan at 15' with my 2 P3ATs.

And on a side note: do any of you shot consistant good groups with the P3AT?  How good and at what range?

2. Dreadnought

Dreadnought New Member

Jul 23, 2007
    I shoot one-handed, 4" groups at 7-yards on average. Two-handed is only slightly better but I did manage a 2" group once at 7 yards using a two-handed hold. Ten yards is the farthest I shoot regularly and the groups spread to almost 6.5" in just that small distance (3 yards). I have only fired one magazine full at 25 yards onto an 8" target. Out of six shots, 4 were on the target (one of those just barely) and two were not. The four that were on the target were within 8" of each other ;)

By comparison, I shoot my Glock 30 (.45ACP) at 7 yards and I can regularly manage clovers. And I can group the Glock 30 in 6" at 25 yards. All shooting with the Glock is done two-handed :)

3. burley

burley Active Member

Nov 26, 2006
    Kansas
    KTOG has the Postal Match and Kel Tec and others normally provide prizes for different classes of KTs;
    http://www.ktog.org/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?board=2507

4. Tokamak

Tokamak New Member

Apr 28, 2006
    KTOG has the Postal Match and Kel Tec and others normally provide prizes for different classes of KTs;
    http://www.ktog.org/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?board=2507[/quote]

Thanks for the link, I was not aware of this.

5. Tokamak

Tokamak New Member

Apr 28, 2006