Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so why is this thread started in the CP33 section? Because 33 or 50 rounds makes for a pretty potent change of attitude if it's unloaded into a target with evil intent. I'd certainly prefer to use a reliable firearm with 33rounds instead of a reliable firearm with 10 rounds. I never heard it documented that anyone after a shooting was quoted to say, "Gee I had too much ammo.". One never knows what it's going to take to change an attitude.

I'm not a proponent of .22 for SD but that's all that some folks can handle or are comfortable with. And any gun beats using harsh words. Many .22 bullets unleashed into someone's torso might not be a stopper, then again. maybe it will be. Again, it's better than nothing. OK, now having written that I carry my arm braced CP33 when the wife and I go for walks not so much for 2 legged vermin but the 4 legged type that we're most likely to encounter. I'm not counting on one round to do the job on a rabid animal but a very rapidly unleashed hail of bullets.

Recently, someone decided and posted that their CP33 wasn't going to be used for SD because it was a rimfire (no names!) and I've run into this in the past. That got me to thinking... does anyone make a better .22 round specifically designed for SD? So I did a duck duck go search for "self defense reliable .22 lr ammo" and surprisingly found that it is indeed made. I've never fired any of it, and the only place that I found any in stock of the Eley "Force" was in the UK. Once I found that it was indeed a "thing" that's where my search ended. I would hope that production methods are such that a more reliable primer is injected into the spinning case. Reliability of the primer is my issue with a .22 for SD.