You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of thektog.org    
KTOG - Kel Tec Owners Group Forum > KelTec Products > PF-9 > Night Sights on the PF9

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2010, 01:42 AM   #1
bjanz

Default Night Sights on the PF9

I'm a PF9 owner. I'm also an amateur watchmaker.

I was talking with a friend (who also carries), and we were discussing the PF9 and whether night sights were available for it. I did some research, and discovered that I could buy Lumi-Nox glow tubes or Trijicon tubes. But the prices were prohibitively expensive, and I wondered whether the shock of discharge might bust the bulbs (Trijicon tubes are properly encapsulated against shock).

Some time ago, I purchased a bottle of SuperLuminova compound, the same aluminum-based material Omega, Rolex, Breitling, and many other brands use on both their dials (numbers and stick markers) and hands.

One thing led to another. I carefully removed the paint dots from the PF9 front and rear sights... cleaned up and reshaped the holes... mixed up some glow powder with a mildly flexible non-UV adhesive (because SuperLuminova NEEDS UV to "charge&quot...

And I now have night sights on the PF9! I have to charge the SuperLuminova in the light for a minute or so - holding it up to the sun for about 10 seconds works even better - but it glows all night long, just like the hands on my Omega Seamaster.

Imagine! A PF9 with night sights!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 05:04 AM   #2
Bjonesy

Default Re: Night Sights on the PF9

Any pics?

Old 10-14-2010, 08:07 PM   #3
rEVOLVED

Thanks for posting. I know many people would love to see some pictures. Maybe one with the sights close up in daylight and one with them "glowing" in the dark.

I know I would love to purchase some night sights for my PF-9, but I would love even more to be able to do what you have done. Any estimate of what your overall cost was?

Old 10-14-2010, 08:35 PM   #4
bjanz